Sweet Bonanza POP vs the original: what changed, read from Pragmatic Play's own pages

Short answer — Pragmatic Play announced Sweet Bonanza POP on 20 October 2026. It moves the candy classic onto a small 3×5 grid where 5 to 9+ matching symbols pay, adds three instant jackpots of 50x, 500x and a 25,000x maximum, and lifts the free-spins Candy Bomb multipliers to as high as 1,000x. The official game page prints an RTP of 97.05%, against 96.48% for the original Sweet Bonanza. Over 100 spins at ₱10, that is an expected long-run cost of ₱29.50 instead of ₱35.20, by our calculation. A ₱10 spin that hits the 25,000x Burst jackpot would pay ₱250,000.
This article is for Filipino players who will soon see two Sweet Bonanza tiles in a lobby and want to know whether "POP" is a reskin or a different game. We read the launch announcement and both official game pages, opened the official demo's public configuration data, and turned the published numbers into pesos. We did not play for real money, and nothing below is a session result or a prediction.
What did Pragmatic Play announce on 20 October?
The Pragmatic Play news item, dated 20 October 2026, says the provider "has brought one of its most popular slots into its colourful new POP universe". The facts it lists are short:
- A 3×5 grid with tumbling reels; wins come from matching 5 to 9+ symbols anywhere.
- Any combination of 3 or more lollipop scatters or POP symbols starts the bonus with 10 free spins.
- If 1, 2 or 3 POP symbols are part of that trigger, an instant prize of 50x, 500x or the 25,000x max win is paid.
- In the bonus, Candy Bomb multipliers carry values of up to 1,000x. At the end of each tumbling sequence, the multipliers on screen are added together and applied to that spin's total win.
Sharon McHugh, Director of Public Relations, is quoted describing the game as combining "fast-paced gameplay, persistent multipliers and a trio of instant jackpots". The same release repeats that the studio "develops up to eight new slot titles each month". The announcement gives no regional launch schedule, so it does not tell us when, or whether, a particular Philippine platform will list the game.
Sweet Bonanza POP and Sweet Bonanza side by side
The table below uses only what each Sweet Bonanza POP game page and Sweet Bonanza game page print, both read on 24 October 2026. Where a page is silent, the cell says so; two rows marked "demo data" come from the public game configuration that the official demo returns, which is explained further down.
| Field | Sweet Bonanza POP | Sweet Bonanza (original) |
|---|---|---|
| RTP on the game page | 97.05% | 96.48% |
| Grid | 3×5 ("three-reel") | Not stated on the page (demo data: 30 positions) |
| Winning combination | 5–9+ matching symbols anywhere | 8–12+ matching symbols anywhere |
| Top regular symbol award | Up to 50x | Up to 50x |
| Bonus trigger | 3+ scatters or POP symbols, 10 free spins | 4–6 scatters, 10 free spins (up to 100x scatter award) |
| Feature multipliers | Candy Bombs up to 1,000x, stay on screen during tumbles | 2x–100x, added at the end of the tumble |
| Instant jackpots | Spark 50x, Snap 500x, Burst 25,000x | None listed |
| Max win | 25,000x (news item; demo data agrees) | Not stated on the page |
| Volatility, hit rate | Not stated | Not stated |
Three differences stand out. The scatter threshold falls from four symbols to three. The multiplier ceiling rises tenfold, from 100x to 1,000x. And the jackpot layer is entirely new: nothing like Spark, Snap or Burst appears on the original's page. The regular-symbol ceiling of 50x is identical, which means most of the headline value has moved into the bonus round and the POP trigger.
Why the smaller grid matters
Pragmatic's original page does not print its grid, but the official demo's starting screen holds 30 symbols in five rows, which we read as six reels by five rows. If that reading is right, the original needs at least 8 of 30 positions to match, or 26.7% of the screen, while POP needs 5 of 15, or 33.3%, by our calculation. A three-scatter trigger on 15 positions is also a different proposition from a four-scatter trigger on 30. None of this tells you the actual hit frequency, which neither page publishes, but it explains why the POP format can pay out from far fewer symbols.
What do the published numbers mean in pesos?
RTP is a long-run average over a huge number of rounds. It does not describe a single session, and short sessions can land far above or below it. Still, it is the cleanest way to compare the cost of play between two titles. The formula is simple: turnover × (100% − RTP). The table is our calculation at a ₱10 stake.
| Title (page RTP) | Expected cost per ₱10 spin | 100 spins (₱1,000 wagered) | 500 spins (₱5,000 wagered) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sweet Bonanza POP (97.05%) | ₱0.295 | ₱29.50 | ₱147.50 |
| Gates of Olympus POP (96.54%) | ₱0.346 | ₱34.60 | ₱173.00 |
| Sweet Bonanza (96.48%) | ₱0.352 | ₱35.20 | ₱176.00 |
On those printed figures, POP's expected cost is ₱5.70 lower per ₱1,000 wagered, about 16% less than the original, by our calculation. We added Gates of Olympus POP, the other POP title with an official game page, because it shares the 3×5 grid, the 1,000x multiplier ceiling and the 25,000x jackpot structure; its page prints 96.54%.

The jackpot ladder at common stakes
The three instant prizes are fixed multiples of the stake, so converting them is direct arithmetic, again our calculation:
- ₱1 spin: Spark ₱50, Snap ₱500, Burst ₱25,000.
- ₱10 spin: Spark ₱500, Snap ₱5,000, Burst ₱250,000.
- ₱50 spin: Spark ₱2,500, Snap ₱25,000, Burst ₱1,250,000.
Notice how far apart the rungs are: each one is ten times the last, and the top rung is fifty times the middle one. Pragmatic does not publish how often each POP count appears, so these are what a hit would pay, not what a player should expect to receive.
What the official demo data adds, and where it disagrees
Pragmatic's game pages embed a free demo served from the provider's own demo server. When the demo starts, it returns a public configuration string. We opened it for both POP titles and the original on 24 October 2026 and recorded only the fields relevant here.
- Multiplier values. Sweet Bonanza POP lists sixteen values: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 20, 25, 50, 100, 250, 500 and 1,000. That matches the "up to 1,000x" on the page and shows the steps in between.
- Maximum win. A field named max_rnd_win reads 25000, agreeing with the 25,000x in the announcement.
- Max-win frequency. A field named max_rnd_hr reads 53,475,936 for Sweet Bonanza POP and 49,751,244 for Gates of Olympus POP. Pragmatic does not define it publicly; we read it as one maximum-win round per roughly 53.5 million rounds in the provider's simulation. At 600 spins an hour, 53.5 million spins would take about 89,000 hours, or roughly ten years of non-stop play, by our calculation. Treat that as an interpretation of an undocumented field, not as an official odds statement.
- RTP. The demo reports 97.05% for Sweet Bonanza POP, matching its page. But it also reports 97.05% for Gates of Olympus POP, whose page prints 96.54%, and lists 96.49% and 96.60% for the original, whose page prints 96.48%.
That last point is the practical lesson. Providers can supply the same title in more than one RTP configuration, and the version a casino installs is its choice. The page figure is the headline; the figure that applies to you is the one in the game's own information screen at the platform where you play. Check it before your first spin.
One wording conflict in the official text
The news item says 5 to 10 extra free spins are won "by landing 2-3 scatters during the feature". The game page says "a further three or four scatters during the bonus game awards five or ten more free spins", and its summary says "up to 10 more spins can be retriggered". Both agree on five or ten extra spins; they disagree on how many scatters it takes. We cannot settle that from public text, so the in-game paytable is the authority.
What is not confirmed yet
- Volatility and hit rate. Neither Sweet Bonanza page prints a volatility rating or hit frequency.
- Bet range. The pages do not print minimum or maximum stakes; operators set their own limits.
- Ante Bet or Buy Feature. The POP page does not mention either. Do not assume the purchase options of the original carry over.
- Philippine availability. We have not verified that any Philippine platform offers Sweet Bonanza POP, and the announcement names none.
- Odds of each POP count. The frequency of one, two or three POP symbols in a trigger is not published.
Before you play in the Philippines
Pragmatic's own site states that its content is intended for persons 18 or older, but Philippine rules are stricter: the PAGCOR responsible gaming page lists persons under 21 among those barred from gaming, and advises players to check that a website is PAGCOR-licensed at pagcorguarantee.ph before they play or pay. The free demo on Pragmatic's site is the safest way to see how the POP trigger and Candy Bombs behave. If you do play for money, decide your peso budget before the first spin. A ladder that tops out at 25,000x is designed to keep the next rung in view, and the expected cost of ₱29.50 per ₱1,000 wagered still adds up across long sessions.
Sources (checked 24 October 2026): Pragmatic Play news, 20 October 2026; Sweet Bonanza POP game page; Sweet Bonanza game page; Gates of Olympus POP game page; the official demo configuration served on those pages; PAGCOR responsible gaming. Expected costs, peso jackpot values, grid shares and the max-win frequency reading are our calculation.
